Dr. Daniel Yergin
Vice Chairman, IHS Markit
Chairman, CERAWeek

Daniel Yergin is a highly respected authority on energy, international politics, and economics. He is Vice Chairman of IHS Markit and cofounded Cambridge Energy Research Associates®. In selecting Dr. Yergin as one of the “hundred people who mattered” worldwide, Time Magazine said, “If there is one man whose opinion matters more than any other on global energy markets, it’s Daniel Yergin.” Fortune said that he is “one of the planet’s foremost thinkers about energy and its implications.”

A Pulitzer Prize winner, Dr. Yergin is the author of the recent bestseller The Quest: Energy, Security, and the Remaking of the Modern World. The Quest has been called “a masterly piece of work” by The Economist and described by the Financial Times as “a triumph.” Dr. Yergin is known around the world for his book The Prize: the Epic Quest for Oil Money and Power, which was awarded the Pulitzer Prize. It became a number one New York Times best seller and has been translated into 17 languages. Of Dr. Yergin’s book Commanding Heights: The Battle for the World Economy, which has been translated into 13 languages, The Wall Street Journal said, “No one could ask for a better account of the world’s political and economic destiny since World War II.” Both The Prize and Commanding Heights were made into award-winning television documentaries for PBS and BBC.

Dr. Yergin was awarded the United States Energy Award for “lifelong achievements in energy and the promotion of international understanding.” He received the Charles Percy Award for Public Service from the Alliance to Save Energy. The International Association for Energy Economics gave Dr. Yergin its 2012 award for “outstanding contributions to the profession of energy economics and to its literature.” In 2014 India’s Prime Minister Manmohan Singh presented him with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dr. Yergin serves on the US Secretary of Energy Advisory Board. He is a member of the National Petroleum Council, a trustee of the Brookings Institution, and a director of the United States Energy Association and of the US-Russia Business Council. He is a member of the Advisory Board of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Energy Initiative, Singapore’s International Energy Advisory Board, and the Russian Academy of Oil and Gas.

  • Ben van Beurden
    Chief Executive Officer, Royal Dutch Shell plc
    [Keynote/Plenary][Ben van Beurden][Chief Executive Officer][Royal Dutch Shell plc][Featured Speaker]
  • HE Mohammad Sanusi Barkindo
    Secretary General, OPEC
    [Keynote/Plenary][HE Mohammad Sanusi Barkindo][Secretary General][OPEC][Ministers And Government Official]
  • HE Dharmendra Pradhan
    Minister, Petroleum & Natural Gas & Skill Development & Entrepreneurship, Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas, Government of India
    [Keynote/Plenary][HE Dharmendra Pradhan][Minister, Petroleum & Natural Gas & Skill Development & Entrepreneurship][Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas, Government of India][Ministers And Government Official]
  • Mary Barra
    Chairman & CEO, General Motors
    [Mary Barra][Chairman & CEO][General Motors][Featured Speaker]
  • Pedro Pizarro
    President & CEO, Edison International
    [Keynote/Plenary][Pedro Pizarro][President & CEO][Edison International][Featured Speaker]
  • Ian Taylor
    President & CEO, Vitol
    [Keynote/Plenary][Ian Taylor][President & CEO][Vitol][Featured Speaker]
  • Jean-Bernard Lévy
    CEO & Chairman, Électricité de France (EDF)
    [Jean-Bernard Lévy][CEO & Chairman][Électricité de France (EDF)][Featured Speaker]
  • Fatih Birol
    Executive Director, International Energy Agency
    [Keynote/Plenary][Fatih Birol][Executive Director][International Energy Agency][Featured Speaker]
  • HE Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber
    Minister of State in the United Arab Emirates, CEO, Abu Dhabi National Oil Company (ADNOC)
    [Keynote/Plenary][HE Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber][Minister of State in the United Arab Emirates, CEO][Abu Dhabi National Oil Company (ADNOC)][Featured Speaker]
  • Hon DeAnn Walker
    Chairman, Texas Public Utility Commission
    [Insight/Strategic Dialogue][Hon DeAnn Walker][Chairman][Texas Public Utility Commission][Ministers And Government Official]
  • Greg Armstrong
    Chairman & CEO, Plains All American Pipeline, L.P.
    [Greg Armstrong][Chairman & CEO][Plains All American Pipeline, L.P.][Featured Speaker]
  • Christopher Crane
    President & CEO, Exelon
    [Keynote/Plenary][Christopher Crane][President & CEO][Exelon][Featured Speaker]
  • Jack Fusco
    President & CEO, Cheniere
    [Jack Fusco][President & CEO][Cheniere][Featured Speaker]
  • Russell Girling
    President & CEO, TransCanada Corporation
    [Keynote/Plenary][Russell Girling][President & CEO][TransCanada Corporation][Featured Speaker]
  • Lorenzo Simonelli
    Chairman & CEO, Baker Hughes
    [Keynote/Plenary][Lorenzo Simonelli][Chairman & CEO][Baker Hughes][Featured Speaker]
  • Patricia Vincent-Collawn
    Chairman, President & CEO, PNM Resources
    [Patricia Vincent-Collawn][Chairman, President & CEO][PNM Resources][Featured Speaker]
  • John Hess
    Chief Executive Officer, Hess Corporation
    [Keynote/Plenary][John Hess][Chief Executive Officer][Hess Corporation][Featured Speaker]
  • Thad Hill
    President & CEO, Calpine Corporation
    [Keynote/Plenary][Thad Hill][President & CEO][Calpine Corporation][Featured Speaker]
  • Jeffrey Lyash
    President & CEO, Ontario Power Generation
    [Jeffrey Lyash][President & CEO][Ontario Power Generation][Featured Speaker]
  • Geisha Williams
    President & CEO, PG&E Corporation
    [Geisha Williams][President & CEO][PG&E Corporation][Featured Speaker]
  • Amin Nasser
    President & CEO, Saudi Aramco
    [Amin Nasser][President & CEO][Saudi Aramco][Speaker]
  • Michael Smith
    Chairman, CEO & Founder, Freeport LNG
    [Keynote/Plenary][Michael Smith][Chairman, CEO & Founder][Freeport LNG][Featured Speaker]
  • Ernie Thrasher
    CEO & Chief Marketing Officer, Xcoal Energy & Resources
    [Keynote/Plenary][Ernie Thrasher][CEO & Chief Marketing Officer][Xcoal Energy & Resources][Featured Speaker]
  • Paul Vining
    Chief Executive Officer, The Cline Group, LLC
    [Paul Vining][Chief Executive Officer][The Cline Group, LLC][Featured Speaker]
  • Atul Arya
    Senior Vice President and Chief Energy Strategist, IHS Markit
    [IHS Markit Expert][Atul Arya][Senior Vice President and Chief Energy Strategist][IHS Markit][Ihs Expert]
  • Carlos Pascual
    Senior Vice President, IHS Markit
    [IHS Markit Expert][Carlos Pascual][Senior Vice President][IHS Markit][Ihs Expert]
  • Osmar Abib
    Global Co-Head of Oil & Gas, Credit Suisse
    [Insight/Strategic Dialogue][Osmar Abib][Global Co-Head of Oil & Gas][Credit Suisse][Speaker]
  • Katherine Fog
    Senior Vice President of Corporate Strategy & Analysis, Norsk Hydro ASA
    [Insight/Strategic Dialogue][Katherine Fog][Senior Vice President of Corporate Strategy & Analysis][Norsk Hydro ASA][Speaker]
  • Michael French
    Senior Vice President Corporate Strategy, E.ON
    [Insight/Strategic Dialogue][Michael French][Senior Vice President Corporate Strategy][E.ON][Speaker]
  • Steven Kean
    President & CEO, Kinder Morgan
    [Keynote/Plenary][Steven Kean][President & CEO][Kinder Morgan][Featured Speaker]
  • Michael Klein
    Managing Partner, M. Klein and Company
    [Insight/Strategic Dialogue][Michael Klein][Managing Partner][M. Klein and Company][Speaker]
  • Bill Magness
    President & CEO, Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT)
    [Insight/Strategic Dialogue][Bill Magness][President & CEO][Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT)][Speaker]
  • Jackie Sargent
    General Manager, Austin Energy
    [Insight/Strategic Dialogue][Jackie Sargent][General Manager][Austin Energy][Speaker]
  • Richard Wilson
    Chairman, sitesALIVE Foundation
    [Richard Wilson][Chairman][sitesALIVE Foundation][Speaker]