Energy Innovation Pioneers

The IHS Markit CERAWeek Energy Innovation Pioneers program highlights the companies and entrepreneurs involved in developing technologies and business plans that are transforming the energy future

Energy Innovation Pioneers

Now in its 15th year, the IHS Markit Energy Innovation Pioneers program highlights energy startups that epitomize the animal spirits and drive for invention characterizing the energy sectors. The Founders and CEOs of these companies share their insights at our Innovation Agora@CERAWeek. Two Agora Studios with interactive discussions allow the Pioneers to share their perspectives on how startups navigate, and find opportunities, across the ever-changing energy landscape. The Pioneers will also each host an Agora Pod for deep dives into their technology and how they are disrupting the energy future.

The selection process

Each year, IHS Markit refreshes our database of startups representing the vanguard of innovation in the energy industry. Out of a list of approximately 500 companies, our panel of technology experts select 8 companies based on their creativity, feasibility of business plan, scalability of technology, and leadership team.

IHS Markit thrilled to announced the 2020 class of Energy Innovation Pioneers to nominations! Please click here for our nomination form. Nominations for the 2020 class will be accepted through Oct 31, 2019.

The 2019 class of Energy Innovation Pioneers:


  • Digital transformation is reshaping the upstream Oil & Gas industry in multiple ways—creating new rivalries among energy supplies, companies, and industries; altering technology sourcing & development activities; and recasting the nature of work.

  • In an environment of technological change and ambitious public policy requirements, the electric power sector has the monumental task of discovering the technologies and business models that achieve society’s goals at the lowest cost to consumers.

Energy Innovation Pioneers