• CERAWeek
  • March 18 - 22, 2024

Yang Shao-Horn

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

JR East Professor of Engineering

Yang Shao-Horn is JR EAST Professor of Engineering and faculty in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Department of Materials Science and Engineering and the Research Laboratory of Electronics at MIT. Her research is centered on using physical/material chemistry to control kinetics and dynamics in processes of making zero-carbon energy, chemicals and fuels. Prof. Shao-Horn is a member of the National Academy of Engineering. She is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Electrochemical Society, the National Academy of Inventors and the International Society of Electrochemistry. Her work has been recognized by the Faraday Medal of Royal Society of Chemistry 2018, the Dr. Karl Wamsler Innovation Award from the Technical University of Munich 2020 and Humbolt Prize in Chemistry from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation 2020. She has served on a number of advisory and corporate boards of non-profit and for-profit organizations, and have advised 100+ students and postdocs at MIT, who are now pursuing successful careers in industry including Telsa, Amazon and Apple, national research laboratories, and in academia (~35) including faculty positions at MIT and academic positions in Europe and Asia.

Sessions With Yang Shao-Horn

Wednesday, 8 March